[First] [Last] [Wanna Cyber?] [Old Shit] [About Me] [Leave me a message]
My Words of the Week: Ass Twinky; Chupa Fuma; Chupa Pinga; Ass Hat; Cocksmoke; Grr baby grr.

Music: Bad Religion - What it is

Feeling: Disappointed

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)

another - 2006-12-16

Let life be a good song - 2007-04-17

- - 2005-10-18

Vegas or Bust - 2005-07-22

Marked for Deletion - 2005-06-08

12:27 p.m. - 2005-04-03 - Gas Sucks
As of right now, the gas station at the end of my street is selling regular unleaded for a whopping $2.39 a gallon. I've been reading up on oil prices the past few days, and they are around $58 a barrel.

Out of every barrel (approx. 42 gallons) you get 19� gallons of gasoline, 9 gallons of fuel oil, 4 gallons of jet fuel, and 11 gallons of other products, including lubricants, kerosene, asphalt, and petrochemical feedstocks to make plastics. So that is 43.5 gallons of gasoline/fuel etc. (Experts say that you get more gasoline out of oil because of 'refinery gain'.) The cost per gallon, if my calculations are correct come out to approx. $1.33 per gallon.

This website shows what we pay for when we buy a gallon of gas. (Note: The figures may be a little out of date, but the percentages should still be valid.)

According to that website, in my area, I'm paying $1.06 in taxes, refining costs, distribution, marketing, etc. Honestly, how much marketing does gasoline REALLY need? Everyone NEEDS gasoline to get to and from work. (Especially in the area I live in which has almost no public transportation.)

I saw a report on the news the other night that said that there may be a spike in prices up to over $100 per barrel of oil. Can you imagine?! That's almost DOUBLE what we are paying now. This Website tells you about the spike in oil prices.

Atleast I have a Honda that doesn't eat gas like many of the vehicles that are out there. I can go 2 weeks on a full tank of gas. But that's only driving to and from work.

I can't wait to see how high these prices go. This could get interesting...

[Diaryland] [Guestbook] [Silli Marci]

Favorite Diaries

swtapplpie - orlandoninja - zemcomplex - edgarfrog - Fuppa